Friday, January 5, 2001

McQ's Best Of 2014 Volume 6 - Post Rock Plus

1. Screen Shot - Swans
2. Blues Hour - Mogwai
3. Austerity Blues - Thee Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra
4. Secant - Ben Frost
5. Bring The Sun/Toussaint L'Ouverture - Swans
6. What We Loved Was Not Enough - Thee Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra

Track List / Printable Mix & Year End Summary / Spotify /
McQ's Best Albums Of 2014

About The Albums/Songs On This Mix:

Swans’ To Be Kind (Spotify / Amazon / iTunes) is easily 2014’s best album from a pure composition/production standpoin . Picking up right where the band’s 2012 masterpiece The Seer left off, To Be Kind is another two-hour plus orchestral post-rock battering ram, a little more rock and a little less folk this time out, but basically the same dark, punishing, bat-shit crazy stuff. For those like me with a taste for music completely outside the norm, there was no more exciting album in 2014. The way the band peppers their colossal, repetitive builds with all manner of deranged flourishes is just extraordinary.

Thee Silver Mount Zion Orchestra’s Fuck Off Get Free, We Pour Light On Everything (Spotify / Amazon / iTunes)would be the post-rock album of the year if not for Swans’ To Be Kind. Here, the Godspeed You! Black Emperor side project adds odd punkish vocals to Godspeed’s orchestral, anarchist rage, and the results are killer.

Mogwai’s Rave Tapes (Spotify / Amazon / iTunesfinds the Scottish Post-Rock vets applying more electronic elements to their typical moody, slightly metalish sound. Producer Ben Frost’s crushing Aurora (Spotify / Amazon / iTunes), as much an ambient record from hell in a Tim Hecker vein as it is post-rock, contains some of the year’s most savage percussive passages. Trippy stuff.

No comments: