Friday, January 5, 2001

McQ's Best Of 2015 Vol 9 - Circuit Teasers

1. Stray Dog - New Order
2. Kill V. Maim - Grimes
3. Love Is The Future - Hot Chip
4. Bury It - CHVRCHES
5. Disappointing - John Grant
6. I Can Never Be Myself When You're Around - Chromatics
7. Into The Cave - LoneLady
8. Stranger In A Room - Jamie xx
9. Restless - New Order
10. Flesh Without Blood - Grimes
11. Indian Steps - Hudson Mohawke
12. Let It Happen - Tame Impala
13. To Die In L.A. - Lower Dens
14. Nothing But A Fool - New Order
15. The Rest Is Noise - Jamie xx
16. California - Grimes

Track List / Mix Write-up / Spotify /
McQ's Favorite Albums Of 2015
McQ's Favorite Songs Of 2015

About The Albums/Songs On This Mix:

Again, as with all the 2015 write-ups, let's start with the singles, those songs taken from 2015 albums I won't review.

Scottish producer Hudson Mohawke's Indian Steps, a poignant collaboration with Antony Hegarty from Mohawke's 2015 release Lantern, was quite literally the last song I choose to include in the entire 2015 collection.

It's not a track I'm in love with instrumentally, (though I do think Mohawke does a phenomenal job layering Antony's overdubs), but lyrically, this song packs a world of meaning and quite an emotional wallop into just a few brief verses. A look back at lifelong, committed love from the perspective of the surviving partner just after the other partner has passed, it poetically hits upon the primal desire in all of us to protect those we love most, and also, devastatingly, the ultimate futility of such desires.

The wonderfully moody I Can Never Be Myself When You're Around is one of few lead singles from Portland Post-Punkers turn Synth-Rockers The Chromatics yet to be released Dear Tommy.

Hopefully, 2016 will be year this much-anticipated follow-up to the band's excellent 2012 album Kill For Love finally drops.

Love Is The Future is my favorite of many likeable singles from endearing British Electro-Pop/Funk act Hot Chip's sixth full-length release Why Make Sense?.

Continuing in the vibe of their most recent previous efforts, Why Make Sense? finds the band once again celebrating the joys and benefits of committed, long-term romantic relationships.  To keep things fresh, they've taken a much more relaxed, spartan approach to the music this time out, recording the album in just four days and with a minimum of layered instrumental or vocal overdubs. The result in the loosest, "live-est" feeling record of their career.  In addition to Love Is The Future, (which won its spot on this mix primarily due to those goofy/funky backing vocals), I also  recommend catching the songs Need You Now, Huarache Lights, and Dark Night.

Disappointing is my favorite track from John Grant's solid third solo LP Grey Tickles, Black Pressures, which finds the one-of-a-kind, unpredictable, but often riotiously witty singer-songwriter/electronic artist focusing mostly on the headaches of late middle-age this time around with his typically acerbic, skewed panache.

No comments: